Celebrating an ‘incredible’ annual meeting

Arkansas Baptists, thank you for making the 2019 Arkansas Baptist State Convention (ABSC) Annual Meeting an incredible meeting! The ABSC Pastors’ Conference and Annual Meeting is one of our most important events of the year, celebrating the victories of the past year and challenging us to focus on our mission and ministry for the upcoming year.

030daf 174f9c3a03d74d5091775fbfce8f1f61 mv2

There was strong participation from Arkansas Baptists across the state in this year’s annual meeting. Our records indicate 1,318 individuals from 366 churches participated in the many events that make up the ABSC Pastors’ Conference and Annual Meeting. Our staff has heard from countless people that the meeting proper, networks and fellowship meetings across the three days were incredible. There was laughter, tears, times of intense prayer, celebration, handshakes, hugs and heartwarming fellowship. As expected, when so many high impact leaders are gathered in one place, the spiritually charged energy and excitement is something that is detectable and humbling to experience.

I want to express personal thanks to Dave Hughey, Jarvis Smith and Scott Miller for their leadership as officers with the Pastors’ Conference. I also express deep appreciation to Greg Sykes, Jeff Paxton and Stacy Reed for their leadership as officers of the annual meeting.

I was honored to welcome back long-time Arkansas Baptist and dear friend, Ronnie Floyd, on Tuesday to bring an inspiring word and connect with Arkansas Baptists. We were inspired and moved at the many ministry reports, testimonies, worship, sermons and updates from the agencies and institutions.

We anticipate a great Pastors’ Conference next year from newly elected officers Nick Floyd, David R. Mitchell and Chester Witherspoon; as well as another incredible annual meeting led by elected officers Manley Beasley, Ken Shaddox and Jamar Andrews.

Arkansas Baptists, thank you again for coming in great numbers and connecting at this meeting. Because of your great heart and participation, we left feeling unified, recharged and excited at what God will do in this coming year!

J.D. “Sonny” Tucker is executive director of the Arkansas Baptist State Convention.

© Copyright 2019 Arkansas Baptist Newsmagazine, Inc. Use of this article in print or through electronic means a violation of copyright. Request permission to reprint here.

Share this article


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *