ABSC Prayer Task Force re-affirms commitment to Pastors’ Prayer Gathering

02cf5d 1ce88a27a6df461eb2ef796c42d6753c mv2

“There is as great a need for ABSC pastors to lead out in prayer in this season as any other time that we have gathered to pray,” Larry W. White, Senior Pastor of Cherokee Village First Baptist Church, stated during a recent meeting of the Prayer Task Force of the Arkansas Baptist State Convention (ABSC). This assessment was affirmed unanimously by the group during its meeting on Thursday, June 4, 2020.

The Task Force affirmed their commitment to hold the Annual Pastors’ Prayer Gathering previously scheduled for August 31-September 1, 2020 at Immanuel Baptist Church in Little Rock. This year’s Prayer Gathering will be the seventh time pastors have gathered for the purpose of praying for revival and spiritual awakening. “With all of the things going on around us, this is the time to pray even more,” says White.

For a description of the work of the ABSC Prayer Task Force, click the link here.

The Pastors’ Prayer Gathering has been a vital catalyst to a movement of prayer among Arkansas Baptists. This meeting provides pastors a chance to get away and have a focused time of prayer. It also provides models for prayer events that pastors take back to their congregations to lead them to pray.

Since this event serves as such a rally point, the Task Force committed to move forward in whatever form they can in August. The plan is to maintain this date since it is on pastors’ calendars already. The Task Force will proceed with the usual format while developing ideas for alternative formats if the requirements of social distancing necessitate change. They discussed adding online or regional options to maintain the synergy of prayer that has been the highlight of past gatherings. No final decision has been made as to alternatives, but the commitment to pray together on August 31-September 1, 2020 was affirmed.

Share this article


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *