Arkansas Baptist Foundation holds first board meeting of 2024

The Board of Directors of the Arkansas Baptist Foundation (ABF) held its first quarterly board meeting for 2024 on Thursday, February 8, 2024, at the Arkansas Baptist State Convention (ABSC) building. This marked the formal beginning of ABF’s new board year. As a means of commissioning the board and officers into service, ABSC Executive Director Rex Horne opened the day with a guided time of prayer.  

B8A2667F C706 4BC1 8920 950E5F6E1D99
Dr. Rex Horne, the executive director of the Arkansas Baptist State Convention, addresses the board of the Arkansas Baptist Foundation, sharing from God’s Word.

Jay Shell, chair of the ABF Board, gave the opening devotional from Matthew 6:9-33 on the Lord’s prayer and the importance of our forgiveness of others just as Christ forgave us.  

ABF President Bobby Thomas led the board in a time of orientation and a review of the Foundation’s history. 

3D140088 8622 4EBB BA62 AF60F6D6B402
Arkansas Baptist Foundation President Bobby Thomas shares presentation with the board.

Highlights of the board meeting included: 

  • ABF’s new 2024 Annual Report, noting distributions of $50,394,184 in 2023. This brings total distributions since ABF’s inception to more than $575 million. 
  • Introduction of new Board member Aaron Andrews of Walnut Ridge. Returning for new terms are Jay Shell of Batesville and Jeff Thompson of Fort Smith. 
  • Arkansas Baptist Children and Family Ministries update from Executive Director Derek Brown. He shared their 2024 goals for the 130th year of operation as they look to further solidify integrating a full-service care system with Connected Foster Care and celebrate the growth that Living Well Counseling has seen in 2023.  
  • Approval of 45 scholarship awards for the 2024-25 school year for students attending Ouachita Baptist University, Williams Baptist University, or seminary. 
  • Continuation of rotating distribution to an Arkansas Baptist ministry partner in conjunction with the ABF annual board advance. This year’s distribution will be made to Ouachita Baptist University. 

Share this article


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *