ABF holds Annual Board Advance at Arkansas Baptist Homes for Children in Monticello 

arkansas foundation logo

Each August, the Arkansas Baptist Foundation (ABF) provides an opportunity for their Board of Directors to learn more about the work and ministry of the agencies and institutions it serves by taking their annual Board Advance to one of their ministry partners’ locations.  

The 2022 meeting was held at the Arkansas Baptist Homes for Children in Monticello, AR on Thursday, August 11. While there, the Board was given an opportunity to hear from Executive Director, Derek Brown, and Director of Church Partnership, Tim Noel, of the Arkansas Baptist Children & Family Ministries. Allen Elkins, Campus Director of the Monticello campus, also shared his heart for the ministry and why they feel called to serve. The ABF board learned more about the overall vision of Arkansas Baptist Children & Family Ministries and how they can each be more involved. Elkins expressed their desire to serve their surrounding community and ways they are working to meet the growing and ever-changing needs. The day included a tour of the campus and time in prayer for those who serve and are being served there.  

Highlights of the board meeting included: 

  • The Board voted to continue the 5% distribution rate from the Foundation’s Spending Plan Fund in order to maintain consistent ministry funding in 2023. They also agreed to change the timing of the annual calculation to coincide with the determination of the distribution rate. This will provide greater clarity in budgeting and cash flow planning for ministry partners.  
  • Review of financial reporting through June 30, including year to date distributions of $14,693,061, which is up 35% from this time last year and distributions to churches have more than doubled. 
  • Recognition of Board of Director nominations for 2023 to be presented for approval at this year’s Arkansas Baptist State Convention Annual Meeting. Nominees include Mark Conine of Little Rock, John McMorran of Little Rock, and Larry Walker of Russellville, who are all previous Foundation board members. Noyl Houston of Jonesboro is eligible for re-election and Matt Stewart of Clinton will be new to the Foundation board in 2023.

Click here for related article.

Share this article


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *